Home Entertainment Tiwa Savage, Davido And Wizkid Get NAACP Award Nominations

Tiwa Savage, Davido And Wizkid Get NAACP Award Nominations


On February 2, 2020, nominations for the NAACP Image Awards were announced and Nigerian superstars, Tiwa Savage, Davido and Wizkid all bagged nominations.

Tiwa Savage bagged two nominations in the Oustanding International Song category for ‘Temptation,’ her single off her album, ‘Celia’. The song features British star, Sam Smith. She was also nominated for ‘Tanana,’ Davido‘s track off his album, A Better Time. Nigerian superstar, Wizkid bagged a nomination for his part on ‘Brown Skin Girl.’

The song is nominated in the Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album category. The award will be aired on the 28th of March, 2021 by 1am WAT.

What is the NAACP Image Awards?

The NAACP Image Awards is an annual awards ceremony presented by the U.S.-based National Association for the Advancement of Colored People [NAACP] to honor outstanding performances in film, television, music, and literature. The first award ceremony took place on the 13th of August 1967.

Here is a full list of nominations;

Outstanding New Artist

Chika – “High Rises”

Doja Cat – “Say So”

D Smoke – “Black Habits”

Giveon – “When It’s All Said And Done”

Skip Marley – “Higher Place”

Outstanding Male Artist

Big SeanDetroit 2

Black ThoughtStreams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane & Able

Charlie Wilson All of My Love

Drake“Laugh Now, Cry Later

Bigger Love

Outstanding Female Artist

Beyoncé – “Black Parade”

H.E.R. – “I Can’t Breathe”

Jazmine Sullivan – “Lost One”

Ledisi – “Anything For You”

Alicia Keys Alicia

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“I Can’t Breathe” – H.E.R.

“Anything for You” – Ledisi

Black Is KingBeyoncé

“Brown Skin Girl” – Beyoncé feat WizKid, SAINt JHN, Blue Ivy Carter

“Do It” – Chloe x Halle

Outstanding Album

AliciaAlicia Keys


Bigger LoveJohn Legend

ChilomboJhené Aiko

The Wild CardLedisi

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Music from the Netflix Film)Branford Marsalis

Insecure: Music from the HBO Original Series – Various Artists

Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey – Various Artists

Soul Original Motion Picture SoundtrackTrent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste and Tom MacDougall

The First Ladies of Gospel: The Clark Sisters Biopic SoundtrackDonald Lawrence

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

Chosen VesselMarvin Sapp

Gospel According to PJPJ Morton

I AmKoryn Hawthorne

KierraKierra Sheard

The ReturnThe Clark Sisters

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song

“All in His Plan” – PJ Morton

“Never Lost” – CeCe Winans

“Something Has To Break” – Kierra Sheard feat. Tasha Cobbs-Leonard

“Strong God” – Kirk Franklin

“Touch from You” – Tamela Mann

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental

Be WaterChristian Sands

Music From and Inspired By SoulJon Batiste

OmegaImmanuel Wilkins

ReciprocityGeorge Burton

The IconoclastBarry Stephenson

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal

Donny Duke and WonderNathan Mitchell

Holy Room – Live at Alte OperSomi

Pulling Off The CoversMike Phillips

StrongerJeff Bradshaw

The Eddy (From The Netflix Original Series)The Eddy

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song

“I Can’t Breathe” – H.E.R.

“Anything For You” – Ledisi

“B.S.” feat. H.E.R – Jhené Aiko

“Black Parade” – Beyoncé

“Do It” – Chloe x Halle

Outstanding Hip Hop/Rap Song

“Deep Reverence” feat. Nipsey HussleBig Sean

“Savage Remix” – Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyoncé

“Cool Off” – Missy Elliott

“Laugh Now, Cry Later” – Drake

“Life Is Good” – Future & Drake

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)

Alicia Keys feat. Jill Scott – “Jill Scott”

Chloe x Halle – “Wonder What She Thinks Of Me”

Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis feat. Babyface – “He Don’t Know Nothin’ Bout It”

Kem feat. Toni Braxton – “Live Out Your Love”

Ledisi and PJ Morton – “Anything For You”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)

Alicia Keys feat. Khalid – “So Done”

Big Sean feat. Nipsey Hussle – “Deep Reverence”

Chloe x Halle – “Do It”

Jhené Aiko feat. H.E.R. – “B.S.”

Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyoncé – “Savage Remix”

Outstanding International Song

“Blessed” – Buju Banton

“Lockdown” – Original Koffee

“Pressure (Remix)” – Original Koffee feat. Buju Banton

“Tanana” – Davido feat. Tiwa Savage

“Temptation” – Tiwa Savage

Outstanding Producer of the Year

Donald Lawrence


Jathan Wilson

Sean Keys



Do you want your song on JayNaija? Upload Your Song.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.