Home NEWS AFCON Qualifier: Osimhen, Paul Onuachu Score As Super Eagles Fly Past Lesotho...

AFCON Qualifier: Osimhen, Paul Onuachu Score As Super Eagles Fly Past Lesotho In Lagos


Napoli striker Victor Osimhen scored a goal and assisted another, Paul Onuachu was also on target as the Super Eagles beat Lesotho 3-0 to put a gloss to their qualification to the 2021 AFCON in Cameroon today.

Nigeria thus finished top of Group L with 14 points from six matches.

Benin and Sierra Leone will later today battle for the other ticket to Cameroon from this group, while Lesotho finished bottom of the standings on three points.

Victor Osimhen opened scoring for the Super Eagles in the 23rd minute, when he latched on to a superb pass by Kelechi Iheanacho to slot past the onrushing Lesotho goalkeeper.

It was his fifth goal to make him joint top scorer of the qualifiers.

This was after his earlier effort was chalked off for offside.

Oghenekaro Etebo also came close early into a bright and lively first half when he let fly from distance and his shot missed not by much.

The Galatasaray midfielder will double Nigeria lead in the 51st minute, when he somehow met a short pass by Osimhen inside the box to make hay.

Paul Onuachu again came off the bench to score his third international goal in the 83rd minute after he was set up by the crafty Henry Onyekuru.

Captain Ahmed Musa was introduced in the 86th minute to give him his 96th international cap.

The Crocodiles of Lesotho did well not to sit back in their defence and also pushed forward to make this encounter watchable for the 8,000 fans allowed into the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos.

But again the Southern Africans were outclassed again after they lost the reverse tie in Maseru 4-2 two years ago with Osimhen grabbing a brace.

Nigeria Starting XI vs Lesotho (4-2-3-1) – Francis Uzoho – Zaidu Sanusi (Jamilu Collins 54), Tyronne Ebuehi, Leon Balogun, William Ekong (Captain) – Wilfred Ndidi, Oghenekaro Etebo – Alex Iwobi (Henry Onyekuru 74), Samuel Chukwueze (Anayo Iwuala 86), Kelechi Iheanacho (Ahmed Musa 86) – Victor Osimhen (Paul Onuachu 74)


Do you want your song on JayNaija? Upload Your Song.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.